MYNP: Make your Ninong Proud

I took a two-day leave from work on Monday and Tuesday (It was our Patron Saint’s feast day) and when I came back, I felt like an idiot again. Funny when you suddenly take a break from the routine work you do every day and come back as if you have unlearned everything you knew about the usual.

But that is only a momentary amnesia — because the brain is designed to recall all stored memories and bring you back to your routines.

So as soon as I grabbed the mouse of my PC, I knew the repetitive cycle that eats eight hours of my every day will devour me again in the next few days. That is why I sooo love the weekends.

**

Speaking of weekends, it was, as I’ve said, Fiesta in our little barangay on Sunday and Monday. And as customary to Catholics, many parents opt to have their children baptised during the Fiesta. (Para daw tipidnga naman, dalawang okasyon isang handaan. Pinoy talaga.)

And when there are baptisms, their need to be godparents. Unexpectedly, I was asked to be a Ninong to the son of my father’s first cousin. That means the kid is my second cousin. Yes, the kid I don’t remember the name, actually.

While I initially did not want to accept it, malas daw tumanggi. Somehow, that convinced me (or I just felt it was too rude to decline). After all, a godparent is supposed to be a role model for the kid. But hey, I’m not a role model at all. Let me NOT count the ways.

Despite all these in mind, I still had it a go. I actually bought a set of toys for the boy who I clearly don’t remember the name of. In another superstition, the gift (they usually give out cash) is supposed to symbolise your being a second parent to the child. Although I think it is not necessary (KURIPOT lang).

As I was saying, I gave him a box of small toy cars and a colourful bowling set because kids as young as one year old would not appreciate money. Only adults do. With toys, he would probably build memories and of course, have fun.

While I was able to attend the seminar for the parents and godparents, I missed the actual ceremony because I was really not comfortable going — see it was Fiesta and I had visitors to entertain at home and everybody else is busy. But I hope the child understands it and when he grows old enough to become a Ninong himself, he would not fail his godchild like I did to him.

Not only is this boy but three other kids (very sadly) have no choice but to stand with me as their Ninong. I may not be the role-model material but I’d try to be good. And kids, Make your Ninong Proud when you all grow up. I’ll give you candies on Christmas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

