Lola, we’re going to Jolibee

Yesterday was one day when I felt like I was just floating. Lola wasn’t fine when I left the house for work at eight in the morning. She has been staying at ours for the last two days, after being ill since Monday.

I can vividly remember how frail she looked when my Kuya and I visited her on Sunday, to check out on how she was. She’s had a history of attacks and passing out due to high blood pressure. At 70plus, she stays at her house mostly alone in the morning on weekdays. My 10year old cousin stays with her in the night and goes to school at day.

Back when she had an attack just last New Year, what we would have wanted for her is to stay at ours so she would be taken cared of. She did stay for a week but insisted on going back to her own house, which is located in the middle of large rice fields with no neighbors near between mountains in an upland barangay. Grandparents are difficult to convince, so we can do nothing. Even when she was still staying at our house, she would always wonder if her dog and cats have been fed already, or if the chicken’s eggs have been eaten by wild cats, or if the rice fields where pestered by birds.

So she came back to her abode again where she feels more comfortable. After all, it is her home. She has been well for the meantime, as she has been always cautious of what she eats to avoid her BP from elevating.

But she was different on Sunday. We were watching TV that noon, and were lying on the floor. Her breathing was relatively fast, I thought to myself. But I assumed it was normal for people of old age. And when she tried to stand up to go to the rest room, she hardly could lift her own body that I needed to assist her into standing.

She used to be a strong woman.

Then on Monday when I came home after work, my mother and siblings were talking around the dining table. To my shock, Lola was to be brought to check up. It was seven in the evening. I told them I knew something was up, Kuya said he knew as well. But like me, he too did not expect it to be serious.

Yesterday was one day when I felt like I was just floating. Lola wasn’t fine when I left the house for work at eight in the morning. She has been staying at ours for the last two days, after being ill since Monday.

At four in the afternoon, I received an SMS from my mother that Lola has been rushed to the hospital again at noon, and has been confined indefinitely. Apparently, she had a mild stroke that made half her body unresponsive. The first doctor that checked on her on Monday said it was just a problem with her blood circulation. That doctor!

She was lying in the hospital bed, awake, frail, with a dextrose pinned to her right wrist when I came to the hospital yesterday at seven evening. Her voice barely audible, her left arm and legs numb, paralyzed.

I hated hospitals. I have never been to any until yesterday. But she is the only grandparent I have now and there is nothing I wouldn’t do for her, just so she could be with us for more more years. So, Lola be well very soon. Didn’t we promise to bring you to Jolibee?

4 thoughts on “Lola, we’re going to Jolibee

Leave a Reply

